Washington State University College of Pharmacy

United States Transuranium & Uranium Registries
SAC and DOE Representative

2012 Advisory Committee Meeting

« 2011 | Index | 2013 »

Friday and Saturday, September 7-8


 Quick Links

 >> Agenda

 >> Attendees

 >> Presentations

 >> Recommendations

The 2012 annual Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) meeting was a huge success! It was the first in-person meeting since 2009, and everyone agreed that this opportunity to discuss the current research and goals of the USTUR was extremely beneficial.

In attendance were the USTUR staff, SAC members, Department of Energy (DOE) representative, WSU College of Pharmacy Associate Dean of Graduate Education and Scholarship, a donor family representative, scientific collaborators, and invited guests from the scientific community. Each participant brought a unique perspective that resulted in fruitful discussions.

Meeting Summary

Day 1 (Friday):

USTUR faculty and staff described the USTUR's progress and achievements since the last meeting in July 2011. Topics included: Registrant statistics, entry of exposure records into the health physics database, inventory of stored tissues and acid solutions, and radiochemical analyses. In the afternoon, three presentations were given by invited speakers:

Day 2 (Saturday):

Dr. Herman Gibb summarized a PMR and PCMR analysis of radiation and mesothelioma among the USTUR's Registrants, which will soon be published in the American Journal of Public Health. After the morning break, the SAC conducted a closed executive session. They summarized their discussion in a series of Comments and Recommendations, which were presented to the USTUR staff after lunch. This feedback was intended to guide the USTUR's activities during the coming year. The meeting was wrapped up with a tour of the USTUR's laboratory. Most of the SAC members had not seen the laboratory since the last in-person meeting in 2009. At that time, only the autopsy facility was fully functional.

Looking at photograph from the 1966 "Plutonium Contamination in Man" Meeting 1966 meeting attendees
During the laboratory tour, Dick Toohey, Joey Zhou, and Bob Bistline identify familiar faces in a photograph from the 1966 "Plutonium Contamination in Man" meeting. Dr. Bistline was one of the attendees. The photograph from the 1966 meeting. The idea to form a national plutonium registry was first conceived at this meeting. The National Plutonium Registry was formed in 1968. Two years later, its name was changed to the U.S. Transuranium Registry. (click photo to enlarge)

SAC Membership

William Hayes' second 3-year term on the advisory committee was due to expire on September 30, 2012. He chose to continue his service on the SAC for another three-year term; however, he stepped down as chair. Dr. Richard Toohey was chosen to be the new SAC chair.

Photographed at the top of the page are five of six SAC members, and the DOE representative: William Hayes (SAC), Herman Gibb (SAC), Kathryn Meier (SAC), Robert Bistline (SAC), Richard Toohey (SAC), and Joey Zhou (DOE).


This page was last updated September 19, 2012. usturwebmaster@tricity.wsu.edu

USTUR, Washington State University, 1845 Terminal Dr. Suite 201, Richland, WA 99354-4959 USA, 1-509-946-6870 or 1-800-375-9317